A Wave of Culture

18 10 2006

I’ve never been up on what’s going on in the teenybopper culture, and I don’t care to be, but for the sake of research regarding something I’m currently writing, I ended up getting a teen magazine at the grocery store. There was an article that fit in with my project, and it provided an interesting take on the subject.

I was shocked and appalled by the trash that was in that magazine. If you evaluated it with Philippians 4:8, there’d be nothing left but the paper it’s printed on. There was nothing even remotely edifying or even educational about it. All it does is feed into discontentment, materialism, eating disorders, depression and lust, to name just a few.

It’s horrible when people have such a large audience — they speak into so many young people’s lives — and they use it to fill their minds with junk and lies. It’s heartbreaking.

While reading it, I think I could feel my brain cells die, and then I wanted to wash my brains out with disinfectant, which probably wouldn’t help the first problem. It was interesting, though, in a sad sort of way to get a small glimpse into a younger culture.

Recently, I heard a pastor compare standing for righteousness to being in a small rowboat trying to row against a huge wave of culture; the odds seem very discouraging sometimes. I wish the tides would change, I pray the tides will change, especially in the churches.

Actions

Information

2 responses

21 04 2007
Dianasaur

I came back to re-read this post because it kind of tied in with a lesson I just taught the Middle School girls in my group. It was about being salt and light, and how when meat spoils, you don’t get mad at the meat, that’s just a natural process. You get mad at the person who left the meat out or didn’t preserve it. If you slip on ice on the sidewalk in front of your work, you don’t get upset with the ice, you get upset with the people who were supposed to salt the sidewalk. In the same way sin and being sinful is human, it is natural for people without God to be sinful. We can’t get mad at them for being so lost, we have to ask ourselves what we’re doing to be salty.

I heard a Pastor in Hawaii talk in that and it gave me a new understanding of what it means to be salt. I was so inspired that I began praying for boldness to be salty. It comes in waves of gutsiness, but God has definitely given me a boldness at times to speak out against what’s wrong. Maybe my customer was never told that her abusive boyfriend is setting a dangerous standard of relationships for her daughter. Maybe the woman at the duck pond was never told that let her son abusive small animals maliciously could lead to serious problems later in his life. No matter what the situation, when I felt that voice saying, “Someone should say something”, I’d pray about it, and if I really didn’t think it was any of my business and didn’t want to say anything, was when I knew God wanted me to.

The funny thing is, it’s always been met with thankfulness or relief. I realize that may not always be the case, but sometimes people just seem relieved that someone cares enough to question them. Aaron told us “Everyone needs somebody who will ask the hard questions, those questions may cause you to rethink things, or may just confirm what you already know. But you need to be asked them.” I’m terrified of confrontation, but God given boldness is exciting.

21 04 2007
Dianasaur

Wow, sorry I just realized how long that was!

Oh, it’s fine. I don’t mind long comments. 🙂

~Kelsey

Leave a Reply

